I. Have. Had. It.

To readers here, friends on Facebook, followers on Twitter and elsewhere who continue to counter #BlackLivesMatter with #AllLivesMatter, please listen. You don’t get it. You aren’t getting it. And you really, really, REALLY need to get it. Please muster all the intellectual capacity you possess and start working at getting it. If you can think that it’s okay for WHITE mass murderers (James Holmes–Aurora Theater killer and Robert Deer—Planned Parenthood killer) to be caught and jailed AT THE SCENES OF THEIR CRIMES without being killed, but say nothing when a BLACK man trying to COMPLY with police orders is shot point blank and killed while reaching for his wallet, then you need to examine yourself. You need to wonder why you’re not speaking up, at least to put a #BlackLivesMatter in a Facebook or Twitter post. You need to wonder if maybe you don’t agree that black people just shouldn’t exist. You need to dig down deep and really examine yourself. And you need to remember that old saw: “First they came for the Jews, but I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t Jewish…” and on and on. Well, I can’t do much, but I can speak up. I can say without a doubt that #BlackLivesMatter. I can say that there is a calculated, systemic war on people of color and minorities in this country and all over the world, and that I see it. I can call you out on your #AllLivesMatter and your fucking confederate flags and your praise of Donald Trump as someone who “speaks his mind.” This shit is wrong and it’s wrong on a bone-deep, soul-wrenching, atavistic level. You know it is. You know it’s wrong to bully a child. You know it’s wrong to encourage people to commit mob violence, and you know it wrong to kill someone just because their skin color is black or brown. And if you don’t say something about it, then what does that say about you? And if any of this offends you and you think I’m “overreacting” then I invite you, no, I INSIST that you unfriend, block and unfollow me as soon as possible, because you are obviously not a person I want to know. #PhilandoCastile #AltonSterling #OrlandoPulse #CharlestonChurchShooting #SandraBland #MichaelBrown #TrayvonMartin #AllTheOthersWhoShouldStillBeAlive

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in #BlackLivesMatter, Rant, truth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I. Have. Had. It.

  1. SouthernHon says:

    This post is awesome. So very true.

  2. efrompdx says:

    100% agree with you, GG.

Leave a Reply

