Summertime…

…and the livin’ is easy. I have been enjoying this summer much more than I have enjoyed this season in a long time.  There are lots of reasons: A pool right outside my door, a sweet air conditioned apartment, a completely flexible schedule outside of work, volunteer work at the local farmers’ market, hanging out with my grandson, watching movies, laughing with his crazy friends, teaching him to DRIVE (yes, you read that right). And no one to judge when or how or why I do any of these things. For instance, take Monday and Tuesday mornings. They can be rough. I get off work at 5 a.m. and E has football practice at 7 a.m. both days. That doesn’t leave much time for sleeping. I try to doze till about 6, get him awake enough for both of us to get in the car, then I scoot the couple of miles to the school, drop him off and park the car, where I then recline the seat and snooze till he’s done at around 8:30 or 9. By then, he’s worn out from about two hours of weight lifting and wind sprints, so we go home and both of us crash. I usually sleep less than he does, but at least I manage to go back to sleep. He wakes up later or he sleeps all night. I let him. This may be the last summer he has without some kind of a job, so hell, sleep all day if you can, my boy, and enjoy it. Some days he wakes up, we watch a little TV together, and he may fall asleep again or he may stay up till the wee hours. Doesn’t bother me. If he’s hungry, he’s learning how to do basic stuff, ramen noodles, chicken sandwiches, bacon, eggs and toast. He won’t starve if he gets hungry enough. Sometimes he plays his XBox, sometimes he watches Netflix and catches up on one of our favorite TV shows, The Fosters. We like to watch things together–The Fosters, America’s Got Talent, various sports movies or action films. We want to go see the new Mission: Impossible movie next week, so I got the 3rd one, Ghost Protocol on Netflix last week, so he could see that one first. The stunt of Tom Cruise climbing on the skyscraper in Dubai alone is worth seeing it. We talk about a lot of things when we watch movies. It’s a good time for both of us.

Thing is, who cares when we eat or sleep, really? We get where we need to be when we need to be there, work gets done, bills get paid and the house is in pretty good shape. If I want to drink a pot of coffee at midnight, who’s to say I shouldn’t. If he wants to take a shower at 4 a.m., why not? I will simply be glad he’s bathing.

So much energy has been wasted on “schedules” and things SHOULD be done a certain way. I’m done with that. I want my life easy. I understand being polite and considerate of other people, but it’s just the two of us and it’s summertime. Life is meant to be easy.

And on that note, please listen to the classic song by the inimitable Billie Holiday:

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in allowing, boy, enjoyment, no schedule, Summertime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summertime…

  1. That sounds really lovely. I’m working on a workable schedule for three people and three animals this coming school year, including re-starting my own business. It’s exciting to read about unconventional schedules (or lack thereof) working so well. Thanks – this put a smile on my face!

  2. efrompdx says:

    Isn’t it amazing how the lack of judgment has eliminated the biggest stress in your life? It feels like you are in the best place possible right now, GG. That is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

