Sacrifice

Sacrifice

So this shall be my sacrifice:

To move beyond this path I call my life
For something new, uncharted tracks,
Looking only forward, never back
In the vision pressed to me,
There is no death, but that of mediocrity;
Dropping patterns left behind
Within the chrysalis of mind
And emerging forward, I stand amazed
To see the glittering wings
I always wore, but could not find.

The wind that raised within my soul
Flutters, teasing, waking power
Deep within, and bold,
I dare the precipice and leap
Into the welcoming void,
Feel beneath my new damp wings
A Hand, to catch and hold me
Strong into the Light
Of which was told.

Should such flight then
Be called a Sacrifice?
Or rather joyful gift,
To step away from worry
Lift my heart,
Set my feet upon my path
Where wings can spread,
And dreams can soar
Beyond known Heaven’s sight.

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sacrifice

  1. pugwantstoknow says:

    I’m not into poetry but what you wrote sounded nice. So, are you saying you’ll be leaving the homestead and your lady to embark on some new journey? Or did I miss something? Relationship do end. Opportunities to begin a new life are scary and exciting. Good luck with whatever it is you are seeking.

  2. efrompdx says:

    GG — wow. Powerful.

Leave a Reply

