Ten Thing Monday

I know I’m late, but it’s still Monday, at least where I sit.

1. The turning of the wheel. I pulled up the squash and cucumber plants this weekend. The days are getting shorter. It’s darker in the morning when I go to bed, making it easier for me to sleep. The other day it was downright cool when I went outside at 5 am. I’m thankful for the reminder that nothing, good or bad, stays around forever.

2. Chopped. I know it sounds weird to be grateful for a TV show, but I am grateful to this one. Every time I watch it, I am challenged in so many ways about how I think about cooking. I’ve learned so much about creativity and thinking outside the box and how to use ingredients that I might never have considered in ways I certainly never would have imagined. Chopped has added a huge chunk to my culinary knowledge.

3. Skittles. It’s been almost exactly two years since this fiesty little creature came into our lives. Before her, it had been a good 30 years since I was really attached to a dog. G is her “person” but since she’s been gone so much lately, she’s turned a little bit more toward me. I just adore her personality and her huge heart and spirit. She always seems to know when I need a bit of cheering up and comes to sit it my feet with her little head cocked over as if to say, “What can be wrong, I’M here!”

4. Homegrown tomates. What else needs to be said?

5. Swimming at the college. I am deeply grateful to have a really nice pool to swim in at the local college. I am so thankful they do a punch card program that doesn’t expire until you actually use all the punches. I’m thrilled that the college is starting a swim team (this is the first year) and that I get to swim with the big girls and boys. Slowly, of course, but I’m in the water with them. I’m so excited about having swim meets to maybe go to later in this year. It will be a whole new experience for me.

6. Time outdoors. I don’t do enough of it.

7. Learning to let go. A few weeks ago I unfriended someone on FB for the first time. I was sad that I felt that strongly that I had to do it, but afterward I felt such relief. It’s not that I don’t want this person for a friend in real life, but IRL, I don’t see or hear from them very often because they live on the other side of the country. Their beliefs are SO opposite of anything I do or think on a daily basis, that I just couldn’t have that energy on my wall. The best part is, I don’t feel guilty, just relieved.

8. Central air conditioning at home. We finally had it put in this year, early in the season while it was still cool. I wasn’t too sure of it then, but since the summer has kicked up, boy, I am not sure how we managed without it before. What a blessing.

9. My coworkers. I don’t talk about them a lot because I don’t see them, but I do work with a great group of women (and the occasional man) and they help make the tediousness of the work bearable. You have to be pretty darn smart to be a GOOD medical transcriptionist/editor and a good sense of humor also helps when you work at home alone on weird schedules that on one else would understand. Since they probably won’t read this, I’ll have to figure out some ways to let them know my feelings. Hmmm. Planning…

10. School starts in a week!!!! E will be a freshman. He’s going to learn a lot and have a lot of what he thinks is “knowledge” knocked right out of him. I’ll be practicing a little Abraham hard these next few weeks and months and just see the kind of man I know he can be and not the bratty, infinitely annoying butthead teenager he is most of the time now. And I can put paid to one of the busiest summers of my life. For that, I am truly grateful!

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in 10 Things, Appreciation, Gratitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

