Book A Day #29 – The One I Have Re-read Most Often

I love this author’s work. I’ve heard people sneer at it because of the subject matter or style, but I can honestly say that no one has ever been able to suck me immediately into a story the way this writer does. Every. Single. Time. I discovered this particular book shortly after I moved to New Orleans after I graduated from college (at the library!) I remember going there on my day off, picking up the nearly 800-page tome because I had read some of his others, and settling down on my pallet bed in my tiny apartment. Nearly three days later, I surfaced just in time to go back to work. This book had a huge effect on my thinking for a long time…about good and evil, about fear and how we face it, how we live, what we do to survive, what loyalty and friendship mean, how people handle a crisis, you name it. I’ve gone back to a lot of books over the years to read them again, but this one always gets me in new and deeper ways every time I read it. It meant so much to me that when the author released it finally whole and uncut, I immediately went and bought it. In hardback. It’s definitely time for this one to come back to the bedside.

stand (480x640)

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Book A Day, fantasy, reading, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book A Day #29 – The One I Have Re-read Most Often

  1. pugwantstoknow says:

    I have a collection of all of King’s books so I believe I will find this one and reread it. I too have the uncut version in hardcover and started to reread a few years back. Things got hectic and I put it aside. The only book I have ever reread more than once was Hard City by Clark Howard. Right now I’m reading Blood Feud by Edward Klein and The Twelve by Justin Cronin. The Twelve is part two of a series, the first one being The Passage. My tastes don’t run the same as yours but we are readers so that’s enough.

  2. GratefulGran says:

    Yes, I agree! Readers are readers regardless of taste. However, I might try some of the ones you have mentioned. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

