Book A Day #20 – Favourite Cover

I think this is a rather silly category, because don’t we always say, “Don’t judge a book by its cover?” However, I will agree that a lovely or intriguing cover can bring you to a book that you might otherwise pass by. Doesn’t mean the inside is going to hold you, but at least it gets you there so you can consider the offering.

I knew I wanted to read this book as soon as I knew of its existence. One of my favourite authors writing about one of my favourite eras, characters, legends? How could I say no? The cover was icing on the cake, gravy on the biscuits, but it’s held a place in my imagination ever since I saw it. Even though I lost the printed dust jacket off my hardbound copy years ago, I only have to pull the book off the shelf to see it in my mind’s eye, mysterious, ethereal, enticing. I have a rather formidable reading list at the moment, but I think it’s about time this one went back on it.

mistsof

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Art, Book A Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

