Book A Day #19 – Still Can’t Stop Talking About It

Those wacky Swedes! I tell you, I don’t know what it is, but they can spin a tale. Perhaps it’s all those long, dark night, stuck snowed inside with nothing much to do but think. Who knows? I picked this book up at the library after I finished Steig Larsson’s trilogy. The story is really nothing like those, other than the fact that the author(s) are Swedish. It’s a gripping tale, taut, sharp, and unrelenting. I can’t tell you what the title actually refers to, but as the book progresses and you begin to realize, if you don’t start getting a little short of breath, well, I guess there’s just no hope for you. Additionally, this book has some of the most gut-wrenching descriptions of life inside a prison that you will ever read. Not descriptions of bad things happening (although some bad things do happen), but just the sheer overwhelming feeling of being caged up and no way to get out on your own. I’m already getting chills just thinking of this book again. Go! Read it! There’s only…

3seconds

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Book A Day, reading, sharing, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book A Day #19 – Still Can’t Stop Talking About It

  1. pugwantstoknow says:

    Ever since finding Steig Larsen I have been on the watch for other Swedish or Scandinavian writers. I too find their writing to be pleasant and easy to read. Try John Ajvide Lindqvist. I read his Harbor and now I am reading Little Star. He’s supposed to be Scandinavia’s answer to Stephen King. Of course you might not like Stephen King.

    • GratefulGran says:

      Thank you for the recommendation! I do like Stephen King very much. His subject matter may not be for everyone, but he is an absolutely brilliant writer.

Leave a Reply

