Book A Day #14 – An Old Favorite

Oh, there are so many. For me, there’s just nothing better than slipping back into a well-loved tale and feeling I’m home again after being away for months or years. I discovered this particular treasure back in high school, probably in the school library. It hooked me from the first page because since I was a very young child, tales of antiquity have entranced me. Greece, Rome, ancient Britain, Asgard, you name it. I cut my reading teeth on Greek and Roman mythology. Through those books, I discovered the Trojan War, another source of endless fascination. This book brings that conflict to life on a very human and personal level, the tale told by someone who was neither hero nor diety, but a street kid who managed to be in the right place at the right time…or the wrong one, depending on your point of view. I lost track of the book for a long time, even though I thought about the story fairly often and wished I could plunge back in to that wild and hopeless tale.

Then, ABE Books (www.abebooks.com) came to my rescue a couple of years ago. I searched until I found the exact title and, behold, a hardback copy was mine for nearly nothing. I don’t know when I’ve been happier opening a package! This would be the exception to my moratorium on buying books–this is one I’ve loved for years, an old friend that will be on the shelf with me from now on. It’s good to have him back!

gods (480x640)

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Book A Day, memories, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

