Book A Day #13 – Makes Me Laugh

A couple of years ago, a good friend from college came to visit. We spent a pleasant week doing a few touristy things, cooking, hanging out around the house, talking about reading, writing, and movies…in other words, a damn near perfect visit. Over the course of her stay, she mentioned the book in question. I told her that I might have heard of it, but I had never read it. She was shocked, SHOCKED, I tell you, and vowed that I must read it posthaste. Once she got back home, she actually ordered and sent me a copy, which I received in good time and immediately started to read.

Oh, my Lord. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I laughed while I was reading this book. Now, you have to understand, both my friend and I are from the South, raised by Southern parents and went to an iconic Southern college, so this book resonates like nobody’s business. But trust me, even if you never set foot in the South, I guarantee you a good few dozen belly laughs in this book. And in the spirit of my friend’s generosity, if you really want to read it, and can’t find it, e-mail me and I’ll get you a copy. Yes, I want to share this book that much!

lady

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Book A Day, Friends, Good times, laughter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book A Day #13 – Makes Me Laugh

  1. Maju says:

    I’ve just finished reading this book. I bought a second hand copy after reading your post about it, and I have to say it was one of the best $4 I ever spent. I laughed out loud, uncontrollably, many times while reading it.

    From the title, I was expecting the book to be set somewhere like Alabama, so I was surprised to find it set right here in the DC area. Somehow I never think of myself as living in the south, but I guess I am since I’m south of the Mason-Dixon line.

  2. GratefulGran says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it!! Geographically, part of DC was taken from Virginia, which is about as Southern as you get. Don’t forget those FFVs (first families of Virginia)!

Leave a Reply

