Book A Day #6 – The One I Always Give As A Gift

It’s categories like this that make me shy away from doing these lists. I don’t always give books, and when I do, it’s hardly going to be the same book to everyone. Reading is like art; it’s totally subjective to the reader. I would not give a chick-lit book to someone who was an S/F fan, nor would I give a cookbook to a person who rarely set foot in their kitchen.  Please.

However, there is a book that I have given as a gift more than once. It’s a mystical tale, full of sensuality, nature, humor, wonderfully drawn characters, depth of plot, beautiful descriptions, everything anyone would want in a good novel. I’ve only read one other of her books, and that one made much less of an impact on me. I still have a couple of her essay books that I need to read, and I suppose I will get around to them eventually, as I have vowed to read all unread books in my house before buying another one, or even venturing to the library.

Do you have an inkling? Did I give enough hints? Okay, I’ll end the suspense.  The book in question is:

prodigal

Oh, and the other book (novel)? The Poisonwood Bible, selected by a book group I was part of for a brief while. Had I not been waiting for jury duty for three hours with nothing else to do, I’m not sure I would have got through that one. The essay books I have are “High Tide in Tucson” and “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.” What is that saying? “So many books, so little…”

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book A Day #6 – The One I Always Give As A Gift

  1. chicu says:

    What a lovely, lovely coincidence, GG. This is one of my favourite books- no matter how many times I pull it out, I lose myself in it. Am in the middle of a 54 hour journey, and this is the book I’ve chosen to take along.

    • GratefulGran says:

      Oh, Chicu, this just makes me smile! Wishing you a safe journey and happy reading!!! SO glad to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

