Book A Day #5 – Least Favorite Book by Favorite Author

Ooops! I made a boo-boo. This category was supposed to be yesterday’s and yesterday’s was supposed to be today’s. Guess I can’t read a list anymore. Oh, well, a little swap up never hurt anyone.

Another difficult category. Not because I don’t read more than one book by authors that I like, but choosing a “least favorite.”  I recently went on a Sophie Hannah binge and read four of her books in a row.  That probably wasn’t a great thing to do, but I felt like I was falling behind with her books and they’re quite addictive. They’re also extremely complex in their plotting, but unfortunately (for me), the last three of the books had as their subjects (well, most of her books do), the convoluted relationships between mothers and children. Given what’s been going on with us over the last year, it probably wasnt’ the best idea to read multiple SH books very quickly. By the time I got to the last one, The Orphan’s Choir, I was quite done with obsessive mothers or grieving mothers or plotting mothers. Not that any of the books are similar in plot, characterization, etc., just that the ones I read seemed to course around variations on that theme. I was ready for a good shoot-em-up spy novel! Additionally, The Orphan’s Choir is one that is outside of her detective partnership of Charlie Zailer and Simon Waterhouse, standing on its own. It’s an interesting psychological study, but by the time I got to it, it just wasn’t my cuppa.  Still, I wouldn’t say don’t read it, just don’t read it after you’ve read a lot of her other ones just prior.

orphan

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Book A Day, reading, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

