Book A Day #1 – Favorite Book From Childhood

Now that the official UK Book A Day challenge is over, I thought I would try it. That’s me, always a little bit late with the trends. 🙂 Really, though, I was reading the FB posts of one of my dear friends about her favorite books and the whole idea intrigued me, plus I thought it would be a good way to get me back here to the blog more often. Writing about reading, what could be better? Hopefully, I will be able to keep it up through the entire month.

Kicking off the 31 days (I’ll have to add a day), is a favorite book from childhood. This might sound like an easy thing, but for me, it wasn’t. I don’t remember not knowing how to read, but of course, a lot of those early books probably wouldn’t make it as classics, except for possibly the Billy and Blaze series, and that more for the lovely artwork of C. W. Anderson. I still remember my awe at his incredibly accurate pencil drawings of Billy’s favorite pony.

The artwork was wonderful, but I passed the simplicity of the story content pretty quickly. I wanted more. I wanted my own horse. Looking back over my life, I don’t think I have ever wanted anything more than I wanted a horse when I was about eight years old. So, it was only natural that this absolute craving would lead me to one of my favorite books of all time:

bbeauty

I think it might be this book that generated my love of re-reading a good tale. It seemed that every time I read the story, something different caught my attention. I leared that a book isn’t a static tale; even if the story is the same, each time you read a book, you, the reader, are different and see the story with different eyes.

I no longer own a copy of Black Beauty, but suddenly I feel the urge to break out the library card.

About GratefulGran

A little bit of this, a little bit of that...
This entry was posted in Book A Day, Good times, memories, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book A Day #1 – Favorite Book From Childhood

  1. efrompdx says:

    I’m looking forward to your book reviews!
    And, I too, was a horse crazed youngster… all those Marguerite Henry books!

Leave a Reply

